7 Things You Need To Know In Your 20's

The Guvna
6 min readNov 19, 2020

You probably won’t have it all together, but that’s okay.

If you are like many of us, your 20’s were or possibly are a blur of conflicting emotions and competing ideas as you try to figure out how you want to live your life.

From a place where near enough every objective can be picked up from a nice selection of ready-made choices (university; degree) to a place where you have to shape your own destiny with no one else to blame if it goes wrong. It can all feel pretty daunting. I often think back to some of the greatest lessons I’ve picked up in my late 20's and 30’s that could have helped me in my early 20’s. Here are 7 of the ones that stick out the most.

It’s Not A Race

I’ve wasted countless amounts of energy worrying about where I fell into my peer group in a particular area. Having come from a school background where everything was ultra-competitive from the classroom to the sports field and beyond, I set off on a career in the same fashion. I was always sprinting to the next checkpoint.

But the thing is life is not a race and even if it was, you’d be racing against yourself and no one else. Take a moment to breathe, take your time when making decisions, and remember you are only up against the best version of yourself.

--

--

The Guvna

I write about personal development, cycling, fatherhood and everything in between.