Personal Growth

You Have Everything You Need

#Ask The Wrong Question, Get The Wrong Answer

The Guvna
4 min readNov 24, 2020

--

Photo From Canva

A few days ago I took my bike into the repair shop as the brake pads needed replacing. After a minute of looking at it, the mechanic turned a small screw near the brakes, and just like that the issue was resolved. This same issue had already cost me a new set of brake pads as well as crucial time lost.

It was a perfect illustration of some of the main barriers we can sometimes throw in front of ourselves.

You Probably Have Everything You Need

We often go looking high and low for answers when everything we need is right there. The solution to the problem I was having with the brakes was in my line of sight every single time I looked down at the wheels.

Never be afraid to sit a while and think.

Lorraine Hansberry

This to me seemed a perfect illustration of how so often we can be blind to the solutions we could come up with ourselves. It may be that we sometimes tell ourselves we’re not capable of working out an answer or we fail to even engage in the process of trying to get an answer.

--

--

The Guvna

I write about personal development, cycling, fatherhood and everything in between.